First Ever WoD — Fight Gone Bad

Today marked my first real foray into Crossfit training. I’m signed up for the Tuesday/Thursday 5:30 a.m. (yeah, I know. It’s freak’n early) program at Crossfit Central here in Austin.

I was 2 minutes late to class, and missed some of the warm up. Not a good start.

Today’s workout of the day (WoD) was Fight Gone Bad — though we did an abbreviated version (only two rounds).

Fight Gone Bad consists of 5 exercises done for 1 minute each. The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. On the call of “rotate,” the athletes must move to the next station immediately. One point is given for each rep, except on the rower where each calorie is one point.

There is a one minute rest allowed between each round.

The exercises are:

  1. Wall-ball: 20 pound ball, 10 ft target. (Reps)
  2. Sumo deadlift high-pull: 75 pounds (Reps)
  3. Box Jump: 20″ box (Reps)
  4. Push-press: 75 pounds (Reps)
  5. Row: calories (Calories)

Here’s a video explaining Fight Gone Bad:

I was able to do all the exercises as prescribed (no scaling) with the exception of my second round of box jumps, I performed step-ups instead of jumping.

However, we realized that our first round of push-press was done with 85 lbs rather than 75…so there’s that. I think I got 27 reps with the 85 lbs, but not sure on the anything else.

I was simply trying to survive my first Crossfit workout, which I did (barely). But it’ll get better. And I’ll get better.

I’m not sure of my score right now…I didn’t look at if after my partner added them up for me while I was trying to breath and not fall down.

But it wasn’t very good. My strength felt good, but my stamina sucks balls.

This entry was posted in Crossfit, Fight Gone Bad, WOD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

