Crossfit WoD: Core Work

Nice chilly 30 degree morning when we started our Crossfit Central 5:30 a.m. class this morning.

But that didn’t stop a full house from coming out to train (I think we had 11-12 in class) in the chilly weather. Today’s workout really hit the core.

Our WoD was:

5 rounds for time of:

  • 30 sit ups
  • 15 Over Head Squats (95 lbs RXd)
  • 30 Supermans
  • 15 jumping pull ups

My time (which was middle of the pack, I think) was: 18:53

The last time I did overhead squats was in December — and my form was pathetic. I used 95 lbs then, but they were really bad. Not deep enough. Not enough balance. Not staying back in the heals. Previous to that attempt, I last tried overhead squats back in August during a Nancy workout. For that workout, I struggled with just the 45 lb bar.

For today’s workout I used 65 lbs, and I felt great. My form was dead on, and I didn’t have to break any of my sets…all 15 reps for all 5 rounds were done uninterrupted. I think I would have been good at 95 lbs today, though I might have had to break up some of the later sets.

Cool Down

Once we were finished, our coach didn’t think he’d inflicted enough pain on us during the WoD, so he had us knock out:

3 rounds as quickly as you can (no breaks) of:

  • 50 bicycle sit ups
  • 50 mountain climbers
  • 30 second plank

I surprised myself on the mountain climbers by knocking out all 50 of each round uninterrupted.

Perhaps the best part of class though, was when three different ladies from our class told me how good I did today and that I was looking good (they all said they are starting to see a big difference, not just in my performance, but in how I look). Thanks ladies.

This entry was posted in Crossfit Central, Pull ups, squats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

