MS 150: Training Ride

Distance: 12.4 miles
Time: 47 minutes

After my first ride yesterday to just test my knee, I’m feeling pretty certain that my knee will not be the limiting factor in my completing this year’s MS 150 bike ride from Houston to Austin (April 18-19).

It will be my lack of training.

Anyhow, I’m going to try to remedy that by getting as much time on my bike as possible in the next three weeks (I’ll still do CrossFit garage gym WoDs on Tuesday and Thursday, though).

I noticed after my first ride that my knee if feeling much better after riding…which my surgeon said would be the best physical therapy I could do.

12 Miles

I rode 3 laps at the Veloway yesterday for my test ride, so I wanted to make an incremental progression each day — going further and/or faster on each training ride.

I started on my first lap and realized that I forgot my cycling gloves…so after a good warmup lap, I stopped back at the car for just a moment to grab them.

After that, I got back into the pedals and knocked out three more laps, for a total of 12.4 miles ridden in 47 minutes.

All-in-all, I felt great during the ride. Though by the end of the fourth lap, I could tell my legs were a little tired and my left foot was hurting.

Think I’ll try out my new Keen cycling sandals when I ride again on Wednesday.

My goal for Wednesday is 5 laps (15.5 miles) in under an hour.

This entry was posted in Cycling, MS 150. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

