Crossfit Central WoD: Overhead

Did today’s CrossFit Central WoD from my home garage gym. The WoD was:

5 Rounds for time of:

  • 100 m row (subbed rowing for 100m run)
  • 7 hang power snatch (115 lbs prescribed, I used 95 lbs)
  • 5 overhead squats (115 lbs prescribed, I used 95 lbs)
  • 3 burpees

My time: 16:20

I probably lost about a minute transistioning in and out of the rower as opposed to just taking off on a 100m sprint, but this was a good workout.

Warmed up with the Bergner warmp-up (PVC pipe) and then practiced a few more hang power snatches with the PVC and then just the 45 lb bar. My form was feeling good so I went for it.

The first round I was able to do all 7 hang power snatches uninterrupted, and kept the bar overhead on the last rep and went straight into my overhead squats. Those felt good too and were uninterrupted. 3 burpees is a good number (when discussing burpees, fewer is always better than more).

For the other four rounds, I did 6 straight hang power snatches, then dropped the bar to catch my breath and let my arms recover for a moment. Then I would do the final hang powe snatch and go straight into my overhead squats — I was able to do all 5 reps of the OHS uninterrupted on all 5 sets.

Overall, felt my form on the hang power snatches was good. As I got more and more tired, I focused more on the hip drive and extension and the second pull to really get under the bar for the snatch.

This entry was posted in Burpee, Crossfit, Crossfit Central, garage gym, Hang Power Snatch, Overhead Squats, Rowing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

