CrossFit Central WoD: KB AMRAP

My legs were still spent from Tuesday’s heavy squat day, and I was feeling it this morning to today’s CrossFit Central WoD:

AMRAP in 20 minutes of:

  • 20 Kettle bell snatch (16kg, 10 reps each arm)
  • 10 Sprawl to KB Sumo Deadlift High Pull
  • 100m run

I’m thankful that I had my lovely wife work on my calluses last night — she used some egg-shaped cheese grater thing to shave down my calluse (three big ones on my left hand, and a giant one on the right hand). Because all of those KB swings and pulls were shredding my hands today.

I finished 7 full rounds + 17 KB snatches. Subbed 100m rowing for the running, which, as one of our trainers noted, probably made the WoD a lot harder for this particular set of exercises.

KB Snatches

This was my first time to attempt KB snatches, which were more like 1-armed KB swings combined with a thruster, where you swing the KB between your legs, pull the elbow high, and then “punch” the KB straight up. The 16kg was not a problem and I probably should have used a 20kg KB. As long as I focused on using my hip drive, the snatches were pretty good.

Though Trainer Zach chided me for using a small hand towel to hold the KBs after my 2nd round. It’s not so much the calluses that the KB was rubbing, but I sweat A LOT. And was having some difficutly holding onto and gripping the bar. But I kept using my hand towel anyhow.

Sprawls to KB SDHP

First time doing this particular exercise, too. And I hated it, as it sucked the air out of my lungs and the strength out of every muscle. In fact, I hated them so much, I think I’m going to incorporate them into my warm up routine at home.

So — if you’ve never done them before:

  1. Place the kettle bell on the ground in front of you.
  2. From a standing position, drop down like you’re going to do a burpee (drop to a push up position), but intead of doing a push up, bring your feet back up to your hands and into a squat position.
  3. Now, grab the KB with both hands and pull it up into a sumo dead lift high pull.
  4. Repeat.
This entry was posted in Crossfit Central, Kettle bell, Rowing, Sumo Dead Lift Highpulls. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

