CrossFit Garage Gym WoD: St. Paddy (Again)

Back in March of this year, I took a few months off from my CrossFit affiliate to help rest and rehab my degenerative knees.

One of the first Gargage Gym WoDs that I designed for myself was the March 17 “St. Paddy” WoD, which is:

3 Rounds (for time) of:

  • 400m row
  • 20 pull ups
  • 15 sit ups
  • 10 push press (95 lbs)

I completed this WoD in 18:57, using jumping pull ups as a sub for pull ups.

I wanted to see if I’ve made any progress on this WoD, so 5 months later, I gave it another shot. My time today was a bit more than a minute faster, finishing in 17:50. Also, I did the more difficult resistance band pull-ups instead of jumping pull-ups…so all the better.

  • On the third set of pull ups, my hands started to blister, and by the 7th rep, my hands were a mess.  First set of 20 pull ups were done uninterrupted, the second set was done 10-5-5, and the third set was 9-6-5.
  • Rowing splits were 1:47, 1:59, 2:04
  • Push press was not too difficult, and was able to do all three sets uninterrupted. Form felt better in the third set once I started really opening up my hips to propel the weight up, instead of just pressing it with all arms.

My goal is to get this under 16:30 by next St. Paddy’s day.

This entry was posted in Crossfit, Pull ups, Rowing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

